The 5 pillars of Islam

In RE today we were learning about how Muslims respect their God. We found out about the 5 pillars of Islam:

  • Shahada: Faith.
  • Salat: prayer.
  • Zakāt: charity.
  • Sawm: fasting.
  • Hajj: pilgrimage to Mecca.

Once we had talked about them, we played a matching game where we had to match up the information to the right pillar.

Then we created our own information poster in the shape of a pillar about one of the pillars. We are going to cut them out and make our own temple with them! I was particularly impressed by the Arabic writing some of the children did on their pillar! It’s interesting for us to see and learn about other languages.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s